logo logo

WE RUN

AND WE CARE

Get fit! "Lauf dich fit!"

Bayerischer Leichtathletik Verband e.V.

One of the first cooperations is the “lauf-dich-fit” project of the Bavarian Athletics Association e.V.
The aim is to motivate children and young people from grades 1-10 to run and thus to get them excited about exercise and sport. Movement is especially important in childhood so that all muscles, joints and bones can develop properly and grow well.
Since the start of the project, almost 300,000 children have already registered and discovered the fun of running for themselves.
All children of the school sports campaign Lauf-dich-fit, will receive a free start for the mini-marathon at GMM 2021.
If that is not motivation for training!

ENVIRONMENTAL THOUGHT

GMM2021

Sustainability is like a run – you get closer to the goal step by step and you have to keep up with it. The GMM 2020 should make a statement, for our environment, for more mindfulness and a greater awareness of consumption. Everybody has to start with themselves and that is why we are tackling many of the issues at our event this year and have managed to make some aspects of the GMM sustainable. This year, each runner will refresh himself at the finish line not from a paper cup, but from reusable cups that can be washed and reused hundreds of times. And even if disposable products cannot be avoided, we rely on recycled material and renewable raw materials. Recycling cups at the stations, compostable rain ponchos and goodie bags made of cotton – step by step we are becoming more sustainable.
And so that all runners can arrive at their next Challenge as relaxed as possible and preferably without their own car, all runners with a valid bib number have free travel on the MVV lines.
Our own challenge this year is: as little waste as possible at GMM. Join us at the start and make the world a little bit better step by step.

MUNICH MARATHON FOUNDATION

„MÜNCHEN MARATHON STIFTUNG“

In Munich people stick together – that’s why this city is so warm and our marathon has been contributing to social projects in and around Munich every year during its existence.
This year, Gernot Weigel created the charitable MUNICH MARATHON Foundation for exactly these purposes. At the moment there are only a few steps left until everything is ready, but one thing was clear from the beginning: every cent allocated to this foundation will benefit local aid organisations and support associations one to one. This is our contribution to a sporty and fair Munich. For a city with a heart.

Integrate constantly "Laufend integrieren"

  • Refugees in summer 2015

    N THE SUMMER OF 2015, MUNICH WAS THE FIRST PORT OF CALL FOR PEOPLE WHO HAD LEFT THEIR HOMES TO ESCAPE WAR AND POVERTY; THOUSANDS ARRIVED DAILY IN SPECIAL TRAINS AT MUNICH’S MAIN STATION. A few weeks later, at the marathon weekend, they were on the course as helpers. Some also ventured out onto the courses themselves (marathon, half marathon, 10 KM). Together with the Social Department of the City of Munich and various aid organisations, a special programme for the integration of refugees was set up.

    “YOUNG REFUGEES HAVE ALWAYS BEEN IN THE SITUATION OF HAVING TO ACCEPT HELP – NOW THEY CAN GIVE SOMETHING BACK,” Gernot Weigl comments on the zeal with which the refugees got involved in the organisation. Together with club members from Bavarian clubs, they stood at the food stands along the route and took on organisational tasks in the Olympic Stadium. But refugees did not only shape the image of the MUNICH MARATHON as friendly helpers. In 2015 and 2016, a total of 76 refugees took up the offer to start. The programme included targeted preparation, which was also open to all other interested parties in the run-up to the marathon: “Integrate running.”

  • Donation of 30,000 euros by Wristbands "Running Integration"

    Wristbands with this motto were offered at the marathon fair in the Olympic Hall and in the online shop – from these proceeds and sponsorship money, 30,000 euros were handed over to the social department of the city of Munich last year for the purpose of supporting refugees.

  • Running helps "Laufen hilft"

    “Munich provides a great example of how running can help address the great humanitarian challenges of our time,” says Paco Borao, President of AIMS, which organises over 400 running events worldwide.

    In previous years, the Tokyo Marathon and the Great Ethiopian Run had received the Social Award. “We have made new friends and experienced moving reactions from the people of Munich,” explains Gernot Weigl, the race director of the MUNICH MARATHON. Of course, Munich will continue the project “Integrating Running”. “We will even expand it,” announces Gernot Weigl. “A big topic for 2017 will be inclusion. We also want to promote the integration of people with disabilities at the MUNICH MARATHON in the future.

  • Social Award 2017

    For this commitment, the MUNICH MARATHON was awarded the “Social Award 2017” by the “Association of International Marathons and Distance Races” (AIMS) at their World Congress.

    In 2018, MUNICH MARATHON GmbH was honoured with the “Commitment Award of the City of Munich”.

  • The support continues in 2018

    With the support of Munich Airport, refugees and people with physical disabilities were once again able to take part in the GMM 2018 and actively participate in the organisation. RheumaKids in Motion” of the German Children’s Rheumatism Foundation was chosen as the 2018 cooperation project of “Laufend integrieren”.

  • Donation of 17,000 euros to "buntkicktgut

    After the great success of the Kick’n’Run project in 2017, a donation cheque for 17,000 euros was handed over to the “buntkicktgut” initiative. This project impressively proved that football and running are closely linked.

  • German Children's Rheumatism Foundation "Deutsche Kinderrheuma-Stiftung"

    In 2018, among other things, 100% of the proceeds from the sale of the donation ribbons went to the German Children’s Rheumatism Foundation. This support was used to promote a local farm project that offers affected families and children with rheumatism rest and relaxation from their stressful everyday lives.

My default image

STAY UP TO DATE!

Subscribe to the GMM newsletter now and RECEIVE ALL THE NEWS
AROUND YOUR FAVORITE MARATHON!

logo logo

WE RUN

AND WE CARE

Lauf dich fit!

Bayerischer Leichtathletik Verband e.V.

Eine der ersten Kooperationen ist das Projekt „lauf-dich-fit“ des Bayerischen Leichtathletik Verbandes e.V. Das Ziel ist es, Kinder und Jugendliche von den Klassen 1. – 10. Zum Laufen zu motivieren und sie so für Bewegung und Sport zu begeistern. Bewegung ist gerade im Kindesalter wichtig, damit sich alle Muskeln, Gelenke und Knochen richtig ausbilden und gut wachsen können. Seit Projektstart haben sich bereits nahezu 300.000 Kinder angemeldet und den Spaß am Laufen für sich entdeckt.

Alle Kinder der Schulsportaktion Lauf-dich-fit, erhalten einen Freistart für den mini-marathon beim GMM 2021. Wenn das keine Motivation fürs Training ist!

Der Umweltgedanke

des GMM2021

Nachhaltigkeit ist wie ein Lauf – man kommt dem Ziel schrittweise näher und man muss auf jeden Fall dranbleiben. Der GMM 2021 soll ein Statement setzen, für unsere Umwelt, für mehr Achtsamkeit und ein größeres Bewusstsein für Konsum. Jeder muss bei sich selbst anfangen und deshalb setzen wir dieses Jahr an vielen Stellschrauben unseres Events an und haben es geschafft, einige Aspekte des GMM nachhaltig zu machen. Jeder Läufer erfrischt sich dieses Jahr im Ziel nicht aus einem Pappbecher, sondern aus Mehrwegbechern, die hunderte Male gespült und wiederverwendet werden können. Und selbst, wenn sich Einmalprodukte nicht vermeiden lassen, setzen wir auf Recycling-Material und nachwachsende Rohstoffe. Recycling-Becher an den Stationen, kompostierbare Regen-Ponchos und Goodie Bags aus Baumwolle – Schritt für Schritt werden wir nachhaltiger.

Und damit alle Läufer so entspannt wie möglich und am besten auch noch ohne eigenes Auto zu ihrer nächsten Challenge anreisen können, haben alle Runner mit gültiger Startnummer freie Fahrt in den MVV Linien.

Unsere eigene Challenge dieses Jahr lautet: so wenig Müll wie möglich beim GMM. Sei mit am Start und mach mit uns gemeinsam die Welt Schritt für Schritt ein bisschen besser.

Unsere Stiftung

Die Gemeinnützige MÜNCHEN MARATHON STIFTUNG

In München hält man zusammen – deshalb ist diese Stadt auch so herzlich und unser Marathon leistet seit seines Bestehens jedes Jahr einen Beitrag für soziale Projekte in und um München.

Dieses Jahr wurde von Gernot Weigel zu genau diesen Zwecken die Gemeinnützige MÜNCHEN MARATHON Stiftung ins Leben gerufen. Momentan sind es nur noch wenige Schritte, bis alles fertig ist, doch eines war von Anfang an klar: Jeder Cent, der dieser Stiftung zugedacht wird, kommt eins zu eins lokalen Hilfsorganisationen und Fördervereinen zu Gute. Das ist unser Beitrag für ein sportliches und gerechtes München. Für eine Stadt mit Herz.

Laufend integrieren

  • Flüchtlinge im Sommer 2015

    Im Sommer 2015 war München die erste Anlaufstelle für Menschen gewesen, die vor Krieg und Armut ihre Heimat verlassen hatten, täglich trafen Tausende in Sonderzügen am Münchner Hauptbahnhof ein. Einige Wochen später, beim Marathon-Wochenende, standen sie als Helfer an der Strecke. Einige wagten sich auch selbst auf die Strecken (Marathon, Halbmarathon, 10 KM). Zusammen mit dem Sozialreferat der Stadt München und verschiedenen Hilfsorganisationen wurde ein eigenes Programm zur Integration von Flüchtlingen auf die Beine gestellt.

    „Junge Flüchtlinge waren stets in der Situation gewesen, Hilfe annehmen zu müssen – nun konnten sie etwas zurückgeben“, kommentiert Gernot Weigl den Eifer, mit dem die Flüchtlinge sich in die Organisation einbrachten. Gemeinsam mit Vereinsmitgliedern aus bayerischen Vereinen standen sie an den Verpflegungsständen an der Strecke und übernahmen organisatorische Aufgaben im Olympiastadion. Doch nicht nur als freundliche Helfer prägten Flüchtlinge das Bild des MÜNCHEN MARATHON. 2015 und 2016 nahmen insgesamt 76 Flüchtlinge das Startangebot an. Zum Programm gehörten eine gezielte Vorbereitung, die im Vorfeld des Marathons auch allen anderen Interessenten offen stand: „Laufend integrieren.“

  • Spende von 30.000 Euro durch Wristbands "Laufend integrieren"

    Armbänder mit diesem Motto wurden auf der Marathon-Messe in der Olympiahalle und im Onlineshop angeboten – aus diesem Erlös und Sponsoring-Geldern konnten im letzten Jahr 30.000 Euro zweckgebunden zur Unterstützung von Flüchtlingen an das Sozialreferat der Stadt München übergeben werden.

  • Laufen hilft

    „München liefert ein großartiges Beispiel dafür, wie das Laufen helfen kann, die großen humanitären Herausforderungen unserer Zeit anzugehen“, sagt Paco Borao, der Präsident der AIMS, in der weltweit über 400 Laufveranstalter organisiert sind.

    In den Jahren davor hatten der Tokio Marathon und der „Great Ethiopian Run“ den Social Award erhalten. „Wir haben neue Freunde gewonnen und bewegende Reaktionen der Münchner erfahren“, erklärt Gernot Weigl, der Renndirektor des MÜNCHEN MARATHON. Selbstverständlich wird München das Projekt „Laufend integrieren“ fortführen. „Wir werden es sogar ausbauen“, kündigt Gernot Weigl an. „Ein großes Thema für 2017 wird Inklusion sein. Wir wollen, auch die Integration von Menschen mit Handicap beim MÜNCHEN MARATHON künftig fördern.

  • Social Award 2017

    Für dieses Engagement wurde der MÜNCHEN MARATHON von der „Association of International Marathons and Distance Races“ (AIMS) auf deren Weltkongress mit dem „Social Award 2017“ ausgezeichnet.

    In 2018 wurde die MÜNCHEN MARATHON GmbH mit dem “Engagementpreis der Landeshauptstadt München” geehrt.

  • Die Unterstützung geht auch 2018 weiter

    Mit Unterstützung des Flughafen München konnten auch beim GMM 2018 wieder Flüchtlinge sowie Menschen mit körperlichen Einschränkungen an den Start gehen und sich aktiv an der Organisation beteiligen. Zum Kooperationsprojekt 2018 von “Laufend integrieren” wurde „RheumaKids in Motion“ der Deutschen Kinderrheuma-Stiftung gewählt.

  • Spende von 17.000 Euro an "buntkicktgut"

    Nach dem tollen Erfolg des Projekts Kick’n’Run 2017, konnte der Initiative „buntkicktgut“ ein Spendenscheck über 17.000,- Euro übergeben werden. Dieses Projekt hat eindrucksvoll bewiesen, dass Fußball und Laufen eng miteinander verbunden ist.

  • Deutsche Kinderrheuma-Stiftung

    2018 kam unter anderem der Erlös aus dem Verkauf der Spendenbändchen zu 100% der Deutschen Kinderrheuma-Stiftung zugute. Mit dieser Unterstützung wurde ein lokales Bauernhofprojekt gefördert, welches betroffenen Familien und rheumakranken Kindern Erholung und Entspannung von ihrem belastenden Alltag bietet.

My default image

BLEIB IMMER AUF DEM LAUFENDEN!

Abonniere jetzt den GMM Newsletter und ERHALTE ALLE NEWS RUND UM DEINEN LIEBLINGSMARATHON!